Hidden In The Holes Of The Waterfall

The sun, pours over the trees.
Who lit its flame?
The moon, pulls at the tides.
Who placed it in our sky?
The water, quenches my thirst.
But who is it that gives me life?

They tell me
While standing in brick boxes of human thought
That all of this
Was by accident.
And yet,
I feel the sun warms my face
With the same degree of purpose
As this ink which stains my paper.

……….

I am hidden
in the holes
in the wall
of the waterfall.
I struggle through its mouth
as the water pounds my back
and my feet slide on the rock.
In this moment
in this shallow water
on this beautiful day
I emerge from the cave
and I cannot die
unless the true author
of these words
pulls His pen from my heart
and from my mind.
I wait for death,
but I continue to stand,
immortal,
for these few minutes
happier than any man alive
as the sun
and the water
beat down beautifully
on my head.

……….

On: Worship

Why would we ever think
Singing the same old songs
Over and over and over
Was ever a worthy form of worship
For the omnipotent creator of the universe?

One thought on “Hidden In The Holes Of The Waterfall

  1. The last verse, On: Worship is fantastic. I never thought of these ‘same old songs’ being a bore to a God, but now that I think about it, it would be a bore very quickly.

Leave a Reply

