The World and All Its Petty Offerings

I bask in this simple pleasure
As I have done so many times before.
A cup of earthy tea in my hand
On a patio built forty years ago,
But it is almost as though
It were built for me.
As though this moment were set aside,
Ordained,
A gift.
Vibrant energetic life all around,
Bright, lush, green trees,
Bugs and bees,
The sun making all things shine
And a little bird singing
Just above my head.
Tell me
What in the world
And all its petty offerings
Could compare to this?

Leave a Reply

