Like a Primitive Man

The rain comes down.
Torrential curtains beat across the water
Where I float,
In water warmed by the days sun,
And the rain stings my face.
The sky spits fire across the night
And the thunder sets all things on edge.
Do the birds and squirrels
Look out from the darkness
And wonder what madness grips me?
Lying in the pool like a fool.
The sky could strike me dead,
But I know it won’t
Because only I understand
Its wet and violent rage.
In awe of its power,
I soak in the danger,
Like a primitive man
From the dawn of time.

Leave a Reply

