The Prophet and The Wilderness

I watch the people as they pass by my island
Not one stops to look out on the water,
Not one puts even a foot in,
And that’s all fine and well,
But I wonder quite distantly,
What meaning do they find in life?

………

When I am alone in the woods,
I am not alone,
I think of the caves
And canyons and rivers
That Elijah sat in,
Just him and God,
Talking back and forth.
What kind of friendship
Did they form
In those desolate hours
That made God sweep him
Off the face of the earth
In a chariot of wind and fire.

Leave a Reply

