The Ferryboat and the Passenger – Rain

The Ferryboat and the Passenger – Yong-woon Han

I am a ferry boat.
You’re my passenger.

You tread on me with muddy feet.
I cross the river, hugging you in my arms.

When you are in my arms,
I do not care
Whether the river is deep, shallow or rapid.

If you do not come,
I wait for you from morning till night,
Exposed to winds and wet with snow or rain.

Once you reach the other bank,
You go away without looking back.
But I know you will come back some day.
So I grow old, waiting for you day and night.

I am a ferry boat.
You are my passenger.

Rain – Man-yung Chang

When philomels sing in the April hills,
Rain arrives over the green turf

Rain’s eyes are clear as crystals.
Rain boasts a white pearl necklace.

Rain weaves silver lace all day long
In the shade of the willow trees.

Rain kisses me in broad daylight.
Rain’s lips are wet with strawberry juice.

Rain sings a quiet song,
Ushering a balmy twilight.

Rain never tells us where she sleeps.
Jane, when we light the candle
And sit down together,

Rain bickers outside the window
Deep into the night.
At last in the morning
She goes away somewhere.

Leave a Reply

