Painting – Feelings At The End Of Spring – 鱼玄机

Poem by Yu XuanJi

暮春有感寄友人 Poem by Yu XuanJi 鱼玄机

Painting I did this week.
Translation by Leonard Ng:

Feelings At The End of Spring Sent To A Friend
暮春有感寄友人
The voices of orioles wake me from sad dreams;
light makeup hides the tear-stains on my face.
The bamboo grove is shadowy in the moon’s faint light;
the River lies silent beneath the night’s thick mist.
Swallows are wet-beaked from carrying mud;
bees are sweet-whiskered from gathering pollen.
I alone am pitiful, in my endless longing.
I’ll sing no more of pines with laden limbs.
– Yu XuanJi 鱼玄机

Leave a Reply

